2016 WA Spatial Excellence Award Winners

Damian Shepherd with presenter SSSI Chair and 2015 WASEA winner Kerry Smyth

Professional of the Year Award – Damian Shepherd

Damian is Director of the Western Australian Land Information System – WALIS and Program Coordinator for the WA Location Information Strategy. Having carriage of the Location Information Strategy as well as the State Open Data Policy and the delivery of SLIP is a significant contribution to the use, accessibility and uptake of spatial data in WA. Complimenting these tasks, Damian’s involvement in various committees helps to promote and cement the concepts posed by the spatial policies. For the past 15 years, Damian has championed customers across private and public sectors as well as the research community by turning location based data into information. Damian has a diverse background and career profile that supports his current role and is obviously passionate about the spatial industry which is reflected in his ‘can do’ attitude.


Bryan Boruff with presenter 2013 WASEA and APSEA winner Linda Morgan


Education Development Award – Bryan Boruff

Bryan is a Senior Lecturer in the School of Agriculture and Environment, University of Western Australia and has a passion for GIS and Remote Sensing technologies. Most recently Bryan has developed UWA’s Masters of Geographic Information Science program and Masters of Environmental Science specialising in Geographic Information Science. In addition to his teaching and coordination roles, Bryan also carries a heavy postgraduate supervisory role where in 9 years he has supervised 35 Honours and Masters projects. In his so called spare time he also makes a significant contribution to the industry through his volunteer work with Mapping and Planning Support WA, various advisory groups and SSSI. Bryan has demonstrated a diverse career and is clearly a versatile operator with a strong drive for advancing GIS and Environmental Science both through teaching and research.

Unfortunately, Viet was unable to attend the awards ceremony. Here’s his supervisors Drs Aneesh Krishna and Sonny Tham with presenter 2015 WASEA winner Amir Khodabandeh


Postgraduate Student Award – Viet Nguyen

Viet’s project developed a new methodology, called AQSlim, that drastically simplifies large and complex 3D Triangulated Irregular Network models to a rendering appropriate for the viewing scale – for example using Web GIS.  Not only that, the simplification is completely and incrementally reversible. The project has been determined to be of such value and quality that it is currently undergoing patent application. Data is getting bigger all the time and the drive to make this information accessible through Web GIS is also growing exponentially. Anything that improves the performance whilst preserving visual quality is a must to meet modern user expectations.

Todd Lyons with presenter 2015 WASEA winner Rebekah Daley


Undergraduate Student Award – Todd Lyons

Todd’s project was to establish a gravity base station at Curtin University. Whilst Todd had no training in gravity surveying, he conducted extensive research and learned from industry specialists. The gravity station was established to national standards and accepted by Geoscience Australia for inclusion in the Australian Fundamental Gravity Network. This excellent project delivers the practical application of the research and will stand the test of time being admitted into the national database and available publicly, to benefit both industry and academia.

Todd went on to win the Asia Pacific Spatial Excellence Award for Undergraduate Student at the Sydney International Convention Centre in April 2017.